Keynote Speakers

In addition to in-depth general and breakout sessions, the 2019 Annual Meeting features three keynote speakers at the top of their fields. Learn more below.

Former Governor Jeb Bush

Leadership Expert Quint Studer

Entrepreneur Joe Theismann


Jeb Bush is the 43rd governor of the State of Florida, serving from 1999 through 2007. He was the third Republican elected to the state’s highest office and the first Republican in the state’s history to be reelected. He was most recently a candidate for the Republican presidential nomination in 2016.

During his two terms, Governor Bush championed major reform of government, in areas ranging from health care and environmental protection to civil service and tax reform. His top priority was the overhaul of the state’s failing education system. Under Governor Bush’s leadership, Florida established a bold accountability system in public schools and created the most ambitious school choice programs in the nation. Today, Florida remains a national leader in education and is one of the only states in the nation to significantly narrow the achievement gap.

In addition to a keynote session, Governor Bush will participate in a panel Q&A session with LUGPA’s Health Policy and Political Affairs team.


Quint Studer is a businessman, an entrepreneur, and a mentor to many. He has given his life to designing the building blocks for people and organizations that guide them to achieving and sustaining high performance.

In 2000, Quint and Rishy started the Studer Group, a healthcare consulting company.  In 2016 he left Studer Group to be a full-time community volunteer and head of the Studer Community Institute with the goal of improving the quality of life in the community. SCI’s efforts focus on improving education and economic development through three tracks: Research and advocacy in early childhood education, leadership training and employee development for small and medium-sized businesses and increasing civic knowledge and engagement.

Quint has authored seven leadership-based books, including Results That Last, which reached number seven on the Wall Street bestseller list. He writes a weekly employee development column that runs each Sunday in the Pensacola News Journal. His latest book, Building a Vibrant Community, provides a blueprint for how a community can get to where it wants to be.

He was named by Becker’s Hospital Review as one of the 40 smartest people in healthcare. In 2014, Modern Healthcare awarded Quint with the first-ever Healthcare Marketing Visionary IMPACT award. Quint says he has a human responsibility to act and to do so with a sense of urgency and always connect his actions back to purpose.


Joe Theismann is an entrepreneur and the former star quarterback for the Washington Redskins. He spent the last two decades working for ESPN on their NFL broadcast and the NFL Network.

A 12-year NFL veteran, Theismann played in 163 consecutive games from 1974-1985 and holds Redskins’ records for passing yardage (25,206), completions (2.044) and attempts (3,602). A two-time Pro Bowl selection, Theismann led Washington to a 27-17 victory over the Miami Dolphins in Super Bowl XVII.

Theismann was selected the NFL’s “Man of the Year” in 1982 for his community service and dedication to the health and welfare of children. He won the league’s 1983 “Most Valuable Player” Award for leading the Redskins to an NFL-recorded 541 points and a second consecutive Super Bowl appearance. His career ended abruptly in 1985 after sustaining a broken leg during a game against the New York Giants on national television. In 2003, Theismann was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Theismann, a much sought after motivational speaker, also oversees a popular Washington, DC restaurant that bears his name. He is also the author of The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Understanding Football Like a Pro. Recently, Theismann was named the recipient of the 2013 Walter Camp Football Foundation “Distinguished American” Award.

The first 100 attendees to arrive for this keynote address will receive an autographed picture.