LUGPA President Welcomes Board of Directors at Annual Meeting; Sets Robust Agenda for 2022

CHICAGO, IL, November 17, 2021 – On November 13, LUGPA, the national voice representing independent urology practices in the United States, concluded the three-day LUGPA 2021 Annual Meeting, entitled “Re-imagining the Practice of Urology.” As part of the event, LUGPA’s membership reelected its Board of Directors, including Jonathan Henderson, M.D., who will serve his second term as president of LUGPA’s Board of Directors.

“In an era of increased practice consolidation, LUGPA remains dedicated to a patient’s right to choose their physician,” Dr. Henderson said. “The COVID-19 pandemic has highlighted new ways to increase access to independent physicians, and LUGPA looks forward to working with policymakers to ensure increased accessibility, though cutting-edge platforms like telehealth. We will also continue to champion a patient’s right to price transparency and fair drug pricing. In the year ahead, LUGPA and its membership will continue to communicate with Congress to advocate for our member practices and, most importantly, for our patients.”

Dr. Henderson was elected to a two-year term in 2020. Dr. Henderson has been a member of the LUGPA Board of Directors since 2011, and prior to being elected president, Dr. Henderson served as president-elect and secretary.

“As I begin my second year as LUGPA President, LUGPA remains more motivated than ever to ensure the success and fortitude of independent physicians,” Dr. Henderson said. “LUGPA will champion regulatory reforms that protect and advance the practice of independent urology. The one core principle that drives independent practice is the desire to serve the patient unfettered with as little interference as possible.”

Officers of the LUGPA Board of Directors include the following individuals, who are returning in their roles.

  • Jonathan Henderson, M.D., of Shreveport, LA, serving as president
  • Evan Goldfischer, M.D., of Poughkeepsie, NY, serving as president-elect
  • Scott Sellinger, M.D. of Tallahassee, FL, serving as secretary
  • Dave Carpenter of St. Paul, MN, serving as treasurer
  • Richard Harris, MD of Chicago, IL, serving as immediate past president

The Board of Directors will also continue to include the following individuals.

  • David M. Albala, M.D. of Syracuse, NY
  • E. Scot Davis of Little Rock, AR
  • David J. Ellis, M.D., FACS, of Philadelphia, PA
  • Michael D. Fabrizio, M.D., FACS, of Virginia Beach, VA
  • Jason Hafron, M.D., of Troy, MI
  • Mara R. Holton, M.D., of Annapolis, MD
  • Jeffrey Spier, M.D., of El Paso, TX
  • Alan D. Winkler MHSA, FACMPE, of San Antonio, TX

 “In an unparalleled and challenging time for the health care industry, our Board has been unwavering in its mission to preserve and advance the independent practice of urology,” said Celeste Kirschner, chief executive officer of LUGPA. “Under the leadership of the Board of Directors, LUGPA will continue to amplify the voices of independent physicians and their patients across the United States.”

Click here to read a full recap of the 2021 Annual Meeting.