Dr. Miller Receives Resident Award  


      Dr. Miller (left) accepts the Resident Clinical Innovation Award
from LUGPA Forward Chair Tim A. Richardson, MD, at the 2021
LUGPA Annual Meeting.

David T. Miller, MD was presented with LUGPA Forward's 2021 Resident Clinical Innovation Award for his project, Decreasing Traumatic Foley Insertions: Implementation of a Standard Process of Coude Catheter Insertion

Traumatic foley catheterization leads to patient morbidity and increased healthcare costs. To address this issue, Dr. Miller and his colleagues developed and implemented a coude catheter education program for operating room nurses to standardize the usage of a coude catheter for male patients.

"As a direct result of our project 
there was a significant decrease in the rate of traumatic catheterizations of male patients seen at our institution" said Dr. Miller.  "We also reported significant cost savings as a direct result of decreasing the rate of traumatic catheterizations." 

Dr. Miller is a urology resident at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC) in Pittsburgh, PA.  











Mathew Fakhoury, DO, received the 2020 Resident Clinical Innovation Award for his project, “A Multi-Institutional Quality Assurance Patient Safety Project Across Urban Chicago; Changing County’s/Christ’s Catheter Culture.”